sitmap.live

Reports say Iran has escalated attacks on shipping in the Strait of Hormuz

Disputed · Strait of Hormuz (approximate) ·

Several outlets, including Bloomberg, Reuters (relayed via an OSINT channel), Al Jazeera, i24NEWS, Iran International and the Jerusalem Post, report that Iran has stepped up attacks on commercial shipping in the Strait of Hormuz, with Al Jazeera adding that oil flows fell again. Iran International cites experts, and i24NEWS quotes an unnamed official saying a full closure is coming. Iran says a ship sank after striking a naval mine in the Strait, described by Drop Site News as the first such sinking; this rests only on Iran's own statement and is not reported by the escalation sources.

Unofficial; built automatically from public posts and can be wrong. Verify before acting.

Verification

Disputed: 8 independent sources.

Sources disagree on:

Details by origin

Each detail, with the independent origins that reported it. An origin is the outlet or channel where a claim first appeared; reposts count once. A row counts no more independent origins than the event does above; where it lists more, it says so. This counts reports: it is not a measure of accuracy, and it does not change the event's status. "Reports differ" means two origins gave values that cannot both be true; it is about that detail, not about whether the incident happened.

DetailReportedReported byStatus
What happenedNaval incidentIran International (English); The Jerusalem Post; i24NEWS; Reuters (via Rerum Novarum // Intel); Bloomberg.com; Iran (via Alton Telegraph, Castanet, Drop Site News)6 origins, not corroborated; limited by the event's status
PlaceStrait of HormuzIran International (English); i24NEWS; Bloomberg.com; Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette; Al Jazeera English (via Al Jazeera English (Telegram)); Iran (via Alton Telegraph, Castanet, Drop Site News)6 origins, not corroborated; limited by the event's status
PlaceIranThe Jerusalem Post; Reuters (via Rerum Novarum // Intel)2 origins, not corroborated
Who did itIranIran International (English); The Jerusalem Post; i24NEWS; Reuters (via Rerum Novarum // Intel); Bloomberg.com; Al Jazeera English (via Al Jazeera English (Telegram))6 origins, not corroborated; limited by the event's status
Who said itIranNorthwest Arkansas Democrat-GazetteOne origin
Targetcommercial shippingIran International (English); The Jerusalem Post; Iran (via Alton Telegraph, Castanet, Drop Site News)3 origins, not corroborated; limited by the event's status

Not stated in any report: time.

This table may include reports the automated review judged to be about another incident.

No detail reads as corroborated while the event itself does not.

The disagreements listed under Verification are written by the automated review; this table is computed by rules, so the two lists can differ.

Sources

First reported ; last updated .

Strait of Hormuz: latest reports · All reports on 14 October 2026 · Live map · How this works · Corrections